Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old May 22, 2005, 8:22 AM   #1
dlw

I went to my granddaughter's baton twirling debut (she's 5) yesterday and it was held in a large, very well lighted school gym. I'm a real novice with the FZ20 and just use it on the fully automatic mode thus far. Here's the scoop - when I used the flash the pictures turned out sharp enough but very yellow. Without the flash, the pictures were bright and correctly colored but pretty much out of focus or fuzzy. How can I avoid this? I love the outdoors pictures I get with the Z but am a bit frustrated with indoor shots like these. Is there an easy, understandable work around for this issue? I am already on the edge of selling the FZ20 due to the reddish tint that I get on skin tones when taking indoor pictures. Did Panasonic address that problem in the Z5? I've owned several Kodak digital cameras and never had the red cast issue ever. Overall, the longer I own the FZ20, the more dissappointed I am. My daughter is going to Europe soon and I'm probably going to buy her a Canon S1 (in part because I might dump the Panasonic and buy the S2 for myself if hers works well). Thanks!
dlw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 22, 2005, 9:01 AM   #2

Some indoor lighting looks bright enough to our eyes but not to the camera's. Also, I found that in gymnasiums the camera (in my case the FZ10)did MUCH better if I set the WB myself. If you don't have a WB card, I've heard using the white lid from a Pringle's can works wonderfully. Indoors IS much tougher with digital cameras in general. Good Luck !
Charlie46227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2005, 1:57 PM   #3