Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old May 28, 2005, 2:51 PM   #1
RLH

I currently have a Canon A80 and enjoy it. I'm now looking for somethingwith good zoom capabilities. After reading about Panasonics I've narrowed my choice between these two. Any comments about either would be appreciated.

I do have a question, do either or both have a tri-pod mount. I can't remember reading anything about this feature.

Thanks for your time and help.

Rick

RLH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 28, 2005, 3:40 PM   #2

Both have tripod mounts.
FZ5 is smaller, has no manual focus or hot-shoe for aftermarket flash, as FZ20 does. FZ5 has faster auto-focus.

Read the reviews on both here at Steve's and elsewhere.
trooplewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2005, 6:29 PM   #3

Hello.

I'm a beginner in photography but I just wanted to share why I, after a long period of contemplation, chose the FZ20 over the FZ5, which by the way I have no experience of. The FZ20 is a little more expensive but has a few nifty things.

First of all it is very durable, which is why it's also heavier than the FZ5. I wanted a camera that could take some knocks. The hot shoe is also nice and came in handy right away since my father gave me a Sunpak flash from 1976 (whoa!) that he no longer needed. It works perfectly, and an external flash is great for indoor shots, producing no red eyes. And the manual focus feature is good, especially in low light. Manual focus also enables you to shoot faster since you can keep your subject prefocused. The FZ20 can maintain an aperture of 2.8 through the whole zoom range, so you can get more light into your shots when going telephoto. The shutter button placement, however, seems to be better in the FZ5, but it's not really an issue.