Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jul 15, 2005, 8:08 AM   #1

Just recently acquired my FZ20 and I'm having a blast getting many unbelievable shots. BUT I'm a total newbie with along, longway to go on the learning curve. Many of my shots are throw aways, and I can't seem to get those razor sharp images that so many of you post here.

I've more or less confined to using the presets (I've taken some wonderful pics with Portrait setting and some amazingones of the kids in the pool with Sports setting; complete with water droplets frozen in thin air).

I'm having so much fun that of course I have no time to read the manual, but I'd love to learn more about manual settings.

QUESTION: Does anyone have orknow where I can get my hands on asort of "quick start" list of manual settings for various situations?

BTW, this forum has already helped tremendously; but as usual I'm looking for more short cuts.

corcoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 15, 2005, 8:26 AM   #2

Here are a few of the pool pics.
Attached Images

Old Jul 15, 2005, 8:27 AM   #3

Here's another.
Attached Images

Old Jul 15, 2005, 8:28 AM   #4

And a couple more that I really love.
Attached Images

Old Jul 15, 2005, 8:28 AM   #5

Corcoj -

Your starting a learning curve in manual photography - there are no shortcuts that will teach you what the Z20 is capable of doing. Time, practice and more practice with a ton of "throwaways" will eventually make you achieve what you desire. You'll quickly rtealize that the throwaways become fewer and fewer.

That said, I've found two books indespensible: Understanding Exposure by Bryan _____ (can't remeber his last name) and John Shaw's Nature Photography: A Field Guide. By themselves they're great: with the Z20 and practice, practice and more practice - well, get them and see for yourself.

And to be honest - does the learning curve EVER end? I don't think so.

Kriellian