Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jul 27, 2005, 5:22 AM   #1

Hi.

Just recieved my FZ5 yesterday.

I'm a newbie to photografy so I have a lot to learn.

Right now i need your help.

1st - when i move my camera around i feel something inside mooving (not much but enougth to be felt), even with the camera off. is it the Image Stabilizer lens? is this normal?

2nd - I've kind of disapointed with my first shots. i know i have to know how to use the camera before i have good quality images, so I have been trying mainly with simple mode and macro.

This Image shows great quality in macro mode of cotton fibers !

but the nextones shows disapointing images in portrait mode (scaled to 72 DPI and croped):

Iso 200; F/2.8;Exposure 1/60;

Iso 300; F/2.8;Exposure 1/60:

3rd -Firmware apears to be 1.0, not shure how to check it. Is there any update i shoud make?

4th - I live in Europe and I'm interestes in a macro filter or macro lens.. anything around 50 Euros or less to start for now. What is your advice and where to buy it in europe??

5th - THANKS!
dantept is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 27, 2005, 7:19 AM   #2

I noticed that your ISO settings for both your portrait mode photos are quite high, 200 and 300. Generally you wouldn't want to use a high ISO unless it was a night photo, or there was very very little light in the room, and if your built-in flash isn't sufficient as a flash fill for the shot.

What kind of lighting condition was the room in? Most prosumer cameras (FZ20 included) aren't the best at indoor shots with the stock flash, but usually sharpness and focus aren't a problem. Your shot seems to be out of focus slightly, or it could just be the way you cropped it.

In terms of the noise, that's probably because of the high ISO setting. Did you manually set the ISO, or was that auto as well? Seems kind of odd that the camera would choose 200/300 for those indoor shots.