Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jul 30, 2005, 8:39 PM   #1

Hello all,

I just received my FZ20 a few days ago. I was so excited that I wandered down to the local market to take some pictures. I was a bit disturbed when I had the chance to download the phtos and see what they looked like.

Now, I am not a newbie to photography or digital cameras, just to this particular camera. I am looking for any advice or comments on why you think this picture turned out soft. The original was taken in TIFF format, and the EXIF information is below. The camera was set to center weighted metering and 1 area focus.

Filename : Picture 018.tif
Main Information
Make : Panasonic
Model : DMC-FZ20
Software : Ver1.0
DateTime : 2005:07:28 14:02:08
Sub Information
ExposureTime : 1/320Sec
FNumber : F2.8
ExposureProgram : Aperture Priority
ISOSpeedRatings : 80
ExifVersion : 0220
DateTimeOriginal : 2005:07:28 14:02:08
DateTimeDigitized : 2005:07:28 14:02:08
ExposureBiasValue : EV0.0
MaxApertureValue : F2.8
MeteringMode : Division
LightSource : Unidentified
Flash : Not fired(Compulsory)
FocalLength : 22.50(mm)
ExposureMode : Auto
WhiteBalance : Auto
DigitalZoomRatio : 0/10
FocalLength(35mm) : 135(mm)
SceneCaptureType : Standard
GainControl : None
Contrast : Normal
Saturation : Normal
Sharpness : Normal
Vendor Original Information
Quality mode : 1
Version : 
Macro mode : Off
Rec mode : Unknown (7)

Thanks everybody!
Attached Images

CodyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 30, 2005, 9:12 PM   #2

so... what exactly is your complaint?
squirl033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2005, 9:13 PM   #3

I will take a guess and thats all it is.

But the point of focus seems to be around the elevator sign, maybe even behind it.

I am not sure why, if it was center focus.

I am not sure F2.8 was the correct aperture to use.( but what do I know)