Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Sep 15, 2005, 8:22 PM   #1

Having only had my FZ20 for a month or so now and as I am a complete newbee I am
still taking practice shots

We live near the sea and I would like to take some shots there but am a little concerned regarding saltwater seaspray. What are the safeguards against this and what should one do after being exposed to this possible damage. How much metal does the FZ 20 have in it's casing and what about the lens, how to clean it afterwards?

Am I being paranoid :?

Wallaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 15, 2005, 11:48 PM   #2

most of the FZ's body is polycarbonate plastic, very little metal except the switch contacts and perhaps the knobs and other little fiddly-bits. the main thing you'd have to worry about is salt mist getting into the controls or in through the lens barrel. but as long as you avoid exposing the camera to actual mist or spray, you should be fine. i spent a weekend at the coast with mine a few weeks ago, and it actually got fairly damp on the outside from the fog, but i wiped it dry and it's fine. i do strongly advise you to get an adapter so you can mounta skylight or UV filter close to the lens. this will not only protect the lens from physical damage (i.e. impact), but it will help keep debris or contaminants from getting into the works as the lens moves in and out within the barrel. the filter can be wiped clean with a lint-free soft cloth.
squirl033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2005, 1:13 AM   #3

Thanks Squirl033 for your answer. I think the adapter you mention already comes with the camera to attach the lens hood, is this what you mean? Also in the manual it says there's an MC protector or ND filter available, by UV filter do you mean the ND filter?

:?
Old Sep 17, 2005, 11:31 AM   #4