Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Oct 22, 2005, 3:38 AM   #1

Some of the posters in the forum mentioned that digital zoom is a useless feature. I'm relatively new to this. Please correct me if my 2 beliefs are incorrect:

1. Digital zooms can save space for long travels where uploading pictures to a computer isn't possible. (I know this has to be true)

2. Digital zoom can affect the exposure. e.g. if your subject is small, and either very dark or very bright, the meteoring may give incorrect result. Although there're a few ways to get around that (like manual mode), one is to zoom in to make the subject bigger to cover a larger section of the screen. I don't know if this is correct at all, but I'm just making an assumption.
RayYong is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 22, 2005, 8:11 AM   #2

RayYong wrote:
Quote:
Some of the posters in the forum mentioned that digital zoom is a useless feature. I'm relatively new to this. Please correct me if my 2 beliefs are incorrect:
Quote:
Digital zoom is not useless, it may not live up to some peoples expectations but with some cameras especially the FZ30 , digital zoom works very well for the extremely long distance photo. I have many digital zoom photos from a FZ10 that I am very glad I used the zoom.
Quote:

1. Digital zooms can save space for long travels where uploading pictures to a computer isn't possible. (I know this has to be true)
Quote:
That seems to be a poor reason to use digital zoom, most cameras have a setting to allow more compression on the photo that is a better option than digital zoom. But the statement is true.
Quote: