Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Oct 29, 2005, 4:40 PM   #1

(Semi Newbie here) Just ordered FZ30 and accessories. Can't wait to get it.

Question: I ordered the DMW-CAC1 AC power adapter, primarily because I heard that a full 1GB SD card can take a while to download, and also because in the past when I looked at pics from my Kodak4800 camera I would get to browsing the pics before downloading and lose track of time, but never worried about draining the battery because I had a power adapter plugged in.

But got to thinking - if I got a portable USB multi-card reader (ie the PQI Smart Genie 4 in 1 Reader), I wouldn't need the camera to download pics to the computer, right? Plus it would be faster than the camera download because it is USB 2.0.

Also, I also ordered a DPS-9000 portable battery so will seldom be using up the internal battery.I think the 9000 it recharges itself (via elec or car) so wouldn't it be doing the same thing as the AC power adapter if I hadthe 9000plugged into an outlet while downloading?

So, why spend the $$ for the power adapter? I can just cancel the order, I hope. Am I missing something? (I normally would wait until I saw all this stuff before asking questions, but I need to cancel that order immediately.)
Margotd42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 29, 2005, 4:49 PM   #2

A card reader is the way. Very fast. no need to connect the camera, worry about
battery depletion, etc.
Tazzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2005, 4:49 PM   #3

Cancell it.

The FZ10 shipped with an AC adapter and not many people used it which is why I think its not included anymore.

I have never used the adapter even though I have the one that came with the FZ10....Do yourself a favor and get a usb2 card reader 10 to 15 bucks.

Much faster and safer for the camera.

I also Had a DC4800 ...a little different speed is it not.
genece is offline   Reply With Quote