Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Nov 2, 2005, 4:19 PM   #1

Hello,

to start with: I want to upgrade from non-digital cameras to my very first digital one.

Now I am close to purchase the Fz5 because of its pretty good image quality, its great zoom range in combination with IS, and the manual modes it offers. Its very compact size is also an important factor to me, since I want to have a "mobile" camera to take with me even in the city or just when taking a walk in the woods. For this purpose I dont like to carry around big camera bags. The Fz20 of cause has better specs concerning hot shoe and manual focus ring, but its simply to big for my needs.

But there is one thing I realy wonder about the Fz5: is the lack of a manual focus option a serious thing when it comes to nature photography?

As I already mentioned, I am a rookie when it comes to digital photography. I read quiet a lot of reviews, and
the Fz5 AF seems to work both fast and accurate. But really under all conditions? I don´t talk about low-light and such stuff.

An example: lets say I want to take a shot of a elk (moose) - I live in scandinavia - but it is behind some branches of a tree. It is fall, and there are no leafs left. Would the spot-AF be able to get through without being distracted by the branches (wind makes the branches moving around)? Would the image-result be that the branches are just perfect and the elk blurred? Would the only get-around be to focus on something else exactly at the same distance as the elk, repoint and shoot?

To make a long tale short: to all Fz5-owners - what is your opinion about the Fz5 AF? How often do you really miss the manual focus option? How big is the approx. percentage of bad shots due to wrong focusing? 10/100 or 2/100....