Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Dec 9, 2005, 9:44 AM   #1

I love the 20 but see the RAW format as a big step up - what have you been shooting in? And what converter are you using? Thanks - Bob
StarDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 9, 2005, 2:29 PM   #2

I bought my FZ30 Friday, so I'm no expert with the camera. However, my initial impression is that the camera is much better shooting raw, colors better and more detail in the picture. I use Photoshop CS2 so I downloaded the Adobe raw plug-in that supports the FZ30 and love it. I haven't bothered to install the software that came with the camera since I find the Adobe product so comfortable to use, though I did print an article that talked about what the various adjustments do because at first I had no idea how to make the adjustments I wanted. I'm still playing with it because it can do more than just change white balance, contrast and saturation.

The FZ30's raw mode also gives you a jpg at the same time. When I've compared the 2 I've always gone with the raw version. So I'm planning on using raw most of the time, since I'm rarely concerned with capturing action (the raw files are huge compared to the jpg and it takes significantly more time to write it to the card).
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2005, 6:00 PM   #3

If you check the reviews for the FZ30 - using RAW produces a much better result than the incam jpeg's. If my FZ10 had RAW I'd be shooting RAW all the time - no need to worry about white balance or in cam settings. Also the FZ30 has a fast RAW write time - just 3 seconds between shots. The only thing you will need to do is get Adobe Acrobat RAW or another app - the RAW app with the FZ30 is said to be seriously useless.

Cheers

:?

HarjTT
HarjTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2005, 4:55 AM   #4