Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Dec 11, 2005, 5:14 PM   #1

Hi all

I've been using the FZ10 for a couple of years with great joy.I just gotthe FZ30 earlier today and I'm telling you, every shot is crystal clear, pin sharp and astoundingly beautiful. The ring focus and dial-controlled aperture/shutter settings are a miracle. What GREAT buy.

But because there's all this control, I've been playing. And for some reason,I just can't control the depth of field perfectly in every shot.

Take a look at the two attached pic below. The top pic shows the effect I was after. I never used the FZ10 manual focusing or aperture settings more than once at the beginning, so I'm no pro at doing this. I set the dial to A (for aperture performance) and set the camera to f3.2 (for some reason it wouldn't go down to 2.8?).

Now, the top shot is a fluke. I got it right maybe 3 times out of a 100 with this lavender. This is what I wanted - focused foreground, blurred background. But on just about every other attempt, the foreground would simply blur and the background came out clear (like the bottom shot).

What is it that I'm doing wrong on the bottom shot every time? Why can't I always get the top effect with a wide aperture and dial set to A?

Loving the camera and loving this forum. Where would we be without the FZ30 and the net? :-)

Would appreciate your help and will be posting more questions as I discover the joys and nuances of this new friend.

All the best

Jason
Attached Images

jaseyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 11, 2005, 5:44 PM   #2

Try spot focus to lock onto that lavender bloom (2nd shot) OR on the side of the lens barrel switch to MF and use the manual focus ring and adjust for the bloom
AF is being confused by all the stems of the lavender either way will work