Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Dec 20, 2005, 8:40 AM   #1

I couldn't find any post about that topic. If there is writen something about that, could you tell me?

If not, there are some problems with huge CCD sensors,optisc LCD'sin that temperatures?

I had cameras from 2 to 3 Mpix and now 8Mpix and I'm thinking about what can happend when I try make some phots in temperature like -10 to -30C. Look where I'm living

PS. I don't want lose my Fz30

(I'm sorry for english, I'm new in States )

kreciu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 20, 2005, 11:04 AM   #2

the users manual might offer some guidance in terms of operating temperature range. most commercial grade electronics are rated to operate within an ambient range of 0-70 degrees C, and begin to degrade functionally below 0 C. some may fail outright at temperatures of -30 C (-20 F).

if nothing else, i'd be concerned about the effect on the optics, the possibility of the lens freezing in the barrel if it's exposed to those temperatures for an extended period, or fogging over from condensation. the LCDmay also malfunction - liquid crystaldisplays do not like temperatures below 0 on any scale!

frankly, i would avoid lengthy exposure of any camera to those temperatures at all costs. i don't expect a brief exposure, such as stepping out of a car to snap a shot then getting back in, would cause any problems, but spending anything more than a few minutes out in those temperatures would not be good for your FZ30.

squirl033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2005, 1:05 PM   #3

A potential benefit... less noise at iso200 and iso400. (Haven't you noticed the camera produces more noise after a few minutes versus when you first turn it on? I figure it is the internal heat.)