Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Dec 20, 2005, 9:08 AM   #1

Hello - I'm new to diggys. I got an FZ-5. Have taken some good pics with it. However, the learning curve is still steep!

What is the deal with the DIGITAL zoom? From page 79 of the manual - "when using the digital zoom, the picture quality becomes deteriorated. . . the stabilizer may not be effective..."

So, after reading the above i'm thinking "ghez, then why bother to use the digitial zoom?" You get worse pics when it is used.

Do any of you use it and if so - what for?

Thanks.
dwelsh7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 20, 2005, 9:40 AM   #2

first, not all photographers areas concerned as most of us on this forum about image quality. they take snapshots, and for that purpose,the digital zoom image is often satisfactory.especially in small print sizes, much of the image degradation isn't apparent anyway, unless you use the full 4x.

second, it does extend the reach of the camera by a factor of 4. that gives you the rough equivalent of a 1600mm lens on a film SLR. and if there's something wa-a-a-a-y out there that you just gotta have a pic of, it will often let you get that shot that you could never get any other way. and by the way, most 1600mm lenses on film cameras don't takesuper-clear shots either!

me? i almost never use it, but i have on a couple of occasions, with mixed results. here are a couple of pics shot with the digital zoom on my FZ20. the moon shot used digital zoom in conjunction with my TCON-14B; i didn't have the TCON when i took the kingfisher.

first, a shot of the moon at normal 12x zoom, no digital, for comparison... then the same shot at 2x digital. the 2x shot has been sharpened.

and this is the same shot at 4x digital...

here's a kingfisher shot at 4x digital, with no TCON and no post processing.. this is the raw image from the camera, just resized to post.