Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Dec 26, 2005, 8:53 AM   #1

Hi to all
I am new to FZ and to this forum and I have the following problem. Before few days my brother bought a Pol Cir filter from Hama (# 72555) for the FZ5 (55mm) and when he attach it to the tube it can not stay on it if he shake the camera it just fall of. It is possible to take pictures but we must allays have in mind "not to shake" the camera. I have FZ20 and a Hama UV filter (72mm) and for it there is no such problem. Is the problem into the filter or into the tube of the FZ5? any help/ideas are wellcome

Sorry for my eng but I am from Bulgaria.
sunstorage is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 26, 2005, 10:24 AM   #2

The adapter tube on the FZ5 is a poor job in designing at best.....It needs to have a couple mm sanded off the end of the tube....Leave me see If I can find a link on how they do that.

Maybe this will explain a little better , if your only concern is for a filter the sanding will be enough.

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...dapter+for+FZ5
genece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2005, 10:54 AM   #3

10x a lot. I was hopping that the problem was into the filter but maybe the tube is designed "not so fine".

Old Dec 26, 2005, 1:16 PM   #4

That is correct the tube is a bad design.....it does not hurt to sand the tube as you just want to remove part of the tube that has no threads as that it the problem it prevents the filter from reaching the threads.

I imagine if you hunt around you could find a uv filter that would thread in the adapter and then perhaps you could thread the polarizer into that filter......I am not sure if that would cause vignetting but if Fred moore sees this thread he will know.
genece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2005, 1:38 PM   #5