Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Dec 28, 2005, 9:06 AM   #1

I'm new to diggys. Often when taking a photo with flash - if i am only 2-3 feet away from subject - i get a shadow that is shaped like a half circle. It is about the size of a quarter and is centered and on the bottom of the pic.

I didn't start noticing this until i put the lens hood adaptor and added a filter to the end of it. The filter is clear glass. I got it from B&H. So, i am assuming that it is good quality and is not the problem.

I'm suspecting the problem is the design of the adaptor. Last night i took the adaptor/filter OFF and did not have the shadow problem. However, when the adaptor and filter is on - i tend to get the shadow problem in the situation described above.

Any body else experience this?

How to fix it?

I dont want to go around without a filter. I like to use it for protection but not an the expense of a shadow at the bottom of my close up flash photos.

Would post image to net - but i'm still learning transferring files, etc.

Thanks for any thoughts.

I
dwelsh7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 28, 2005, 9:21 AM   #2

It is totally normal.

The manual says do not use the hood when shooting with flash. This is the reason.

I don't know specifically for the FZ-5. I had a FZ-15 and bougth a 3rd party adapter which lets me shoot with flash and keep filters on.

Probably one FZ-5 user could tell us if there is such adaptor.
msantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2005, 9:59 AM   #3

Good stuff. Thank you Msantos.

So, if i want to keep a filter on it all the time, then i need to get a different kind of adaptor? It will be a total hassle to take the current adaptor off everytime i want to use the flash. What a dumb design.