Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 6, 2006, 8:21 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Default

I have a Nikon SB-50DX Speedlight flash, and was wondering if it would be safe to use it on myFZ20.

The FZ's manual says to "make sure the flash is designed for use with a digital camera and the trigger voltage is based on ISO 10330 (less than 24 volts)".

I have no idea what the trigger voltage on the SB-50DX is, and the manual is not anywhere nearby, so I searched online and found this page which has the trigger voltages for a *lot* of flashes.

http://www.botzilla.com/photo/strobeVolts.html

Turns out that the trigger voltage for the SB-50DX is "5-6V", so I'm safe.
Tought this might be useful for others with a similar problem.
pgomes is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 6, 2006, 8:55 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Corpsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 879
Default

I'm not looking to get an external flash, but thanks for posting that, it could come in handy for anyone shopping for one.
Corpsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2006, 9:34 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 112
Default

S`kay, here`s how ya set up a simple volt meter to check the trigger voltage on a flash. Charge up the flash so it`s ready to strobe. Then set your meter, andmeter leads,as such.

Yo Jim C. maybe you should post this under "How to check flashtrigger voltage" in the flash section`cause the question sure doesto arise a lot. By the way, I did get the volt meter info from the "Botzilla" website.

S`later, JH :G
Attached Images
 
John H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2006, 3:37 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 828
Default

For safety's sake, it's also worthwhile to check polarity at the same time -- most flashes are centre pin positive (as are the FZ cameras), but some dedicated units in the past have been the other way round.

If the flash outlet isn't diode protected there could be damage.
Idle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2006, 10:40 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
genece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,111
Default

Very good thread ....Now if I can find it the next time someone asks.
genece is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.