Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jan 12, 2006, 4:19 PM   #1

I'm new with diggys. I have a Panasonic FZ-5. And, we use Adobe Photoshop Elements 2.0. We got our first prints back from Walmart the other day. They looked nice but we are not efficent. We did a ton of work in Adobe that i am not sure was necessary. Next time, i'm thinking of skipping Adobe, and taking a CD into walmarts printer/computer and making my edits on it. Even after the edits on Adobe - the gal that helped me at Walmart - changed many things. Otherwise, heads would have been chopped in half (ie. cropping). The cropping looked fine on our PC but she said something about resizing that happens when we put the CD into their printer/computer. Anyway, please look at my data taken from Adobe and let me know what is going on. My comments are in brackets below:

HISTOGRAM: 4915200 PIXELS [what does this mean? Good or bad regarding the print quality i would get with a 4 x6 print?]

When i CLICKED ON 'RESIZE' AND THEN CLICKED 'IMAGE SIZE' - it gave me the following info:

PIXELS DIMENSIONS: 14.1 M [good? bad? what does this mean?]
WIDTH: 2560 PIXELS
HEIGHT: 1920 PIXELS

[is the above the best settings i can have on my camera? therefore, this is a good reading?]

DOCUMENT SIZE:
WIDTH: 35.556 INCHES
HEIGHT: 26.667 INCHES
RESOLUTION: 72 PIXELS/INCH

[why does it list the document size as sooooo big??? And, isn't a resolution of 72 very poor quality? The wife and I changed the width and height and resolution on all the above - we told it 4 x 6 with a resolution of 480. The prints looked good but it sure was a lot of work individually changing all of those settings - would they have printed out just as nice if we left it with the 72 pixels setting and the 35 x 26 h/w?]

dwelsh7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 12, 2006, 5:09 PM   #2

Pay attention to the crop section of this

http://www.rockingham.k12.va.us/howt...pselements.htm