Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Feb 10, 2006, 9:28 PM   #1

OK, I am a rank newbie, had my FZ30 about a week. Previous was a coolpix 4800. Every image I have shoot is fairly noisey. I will admit many have been indoors, needing the flash, but most show to be at ISO100. I am shooting on P and leaving most everything to the camera at this point. Is it just my newbiness?

Does Neat Image make the original "Look Noisier" prior to correction? Some of the originals appear less noisey in photoshop.

I am guessing it just gets better with experience. I look at the images on here and they look so good. I guess part of it is also the fact I am looking at them at 100% magnification. I know it is an awesome camera. Maybe I am being to picky for this early in the learning curve?

Ok, done rambling and venting. Guess Just hoping to know my photos will iprove with my experience level?

Thanks
Vol Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 10, 2006, 10:56 PM   #2

If you are a compulsive kind of person who insists on viewing everything 100% to be scandalized by the noise, by all means run everything with deep shadows through noise reduction.

I generally use noise reduction only on images that need it for whatever output I want to use. If I want to print a 13 X 19 and there is a lot of shadow detail it often requires some noise reduction. Otherwise, most ISO 100 shots don't need noise reduction for normal screen viewing or smaller prints.

slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2006, 11:09 PM   #3

k, I really don't want to o/c over the noise. I am seeing it here and there doing other things on photoshop that are easier at higher magnification. What is a good magnification for checking noise? I really do want to know.