Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Feb 17, 2006, 8:45 PM   #1

Hi all .... I just received a Kodak Schneider-Kreuznach Xenar 0.7x Wide Angle Lens to use with my FZ30. It's a little late to do any significant tests but my initial reaction is it looks pretty good. Let me preface that with that I have no experience with wide angle converters (and I'm pretty new to the FZ30). I've been reading all I can and looking at all the comparisons on all the web forums and it came down to the Xenar and LW55 ... in the end I figured it was worth a chance to give the Xenar a try.

I have learned so much from you all and would like to contribute back with trying the lens out and posting the results. I'm not sure whats the best tests are to conduct....short of going to another testers house and setting up a tripod in his front yard. Please let me know what tests you would like me to perform and I will do what I can to accommodate. I just received the TCON 17 as well ..... going to be a fun weekend!
wadeatl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 17, 2006, 8:56 PM   #2

wadeatl wrote:
Quote:
going to be a fun weekend!
Sounds like it! Welcome to the forum. Quite a few of us are looking forward to some samples with the fz30 and kodak-schneider wa. The most critical area of the wa lens is the corners where vignetting andca and softness are most likely to show up. Try to get some high contrasted objects like treebranchesin those areas to give it the acid test. Also zoom in some to2x, 4x, and6xto see how it handles the corners atlower zooms.
fmoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 9:24 PM   #3

The stuff Fred mentioned and be sure to do it as wide as possible and a photo at wide of a building and or a brick wall would be nice. To check for distortion.

I never thought anyone was going to try one of those....thanks

I will be looking forward to some photos.

wadeatl wrote:
Quote: