Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Mar 3, 2006, 4:26 AM   #1

Hi,

I'm new to those lens hood things. Until now I never carried it with me, just because its to big to slip easily into my little camera bag without reverse mounting it on the cam. And also I don't like the look of the camera with it attached. Its sooo bulky with it, looks so pro-ish then. :?

So please, can you explain to me, when I should consider using it anyways? Which situations/under which conditions? What effect does it have?
Yesterday this came to my mind, when I was shooting from inside the train through the windows. I often had a reflection of the metallic UV filter ring on the window, so I guessed, maybe thats when a lens hood would've helped out, would it?

Thanks for your time.
Leberwurstsaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 3, 2006, 7:19 AM   #2

no, lens hood must be set on your FZ30 in sunny days to give some protection agains lateral reflections which may cause flare in the pics.
Also thread it correctly with perfectly perpendicular projections, just like a "+", or you ll get vignetting on the corners of the images
Narmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2006, 9:20 AM   #3

the lens hood won't help with reflections from glass and such, but it will, as Narmer said, reduce the chance of lens flare from bright light outdoors on sunny days. also, as Narmer mentioned, if you're using the factory "petal" style hood, make sure the longer petals are at the top and bottom, not twisted to one side.

you didn't mention which model FZ you're using,but if you don't like the "pro-ish" look (i suspect most of us don't mind that very much! ), you might try using a collapsible hood that you can fold back while on the camera when it's not in use. it works quite well,but is a bit more inconspicuous on the camera when it's folded back.
squirl033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2006, 11:15 AM   #4