Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Apr 6, 2006, 6:05 PM   #1

Hi everyone,
I have just upgrade from a Canon A70 to the Panasonic FZ7.
I'm off to Kenya on Safari in a couple of months, and constantly fail to get good close up action shots of my daughters football team, so the FZ7's 12X Zoom and other features seemed like a good idea.
I hope you can confirm this is a good choice for the above situations, though I'd be happy to hear not, as I'm able to return the camera in the next two weeks.

Despite the A70 having quite a few manual options, I never really used it for more than point and shoot photo's, so I'm a complete novice. Could any of you please advise on the best settings/modes to use for the football action shots, as I have chance to try them this weekend, the Safari questions can wait a while.
Thanks in advance
Nigel
Wildgust is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 6, 2006, 8:10 PM   #2

There is a Sport setting on the FZ (if it's anything like my FZ30) which automatically chooses the fastest available shutter speed. I have not been too lucky with keeping fast moving subjects in focus. You got to use High Speed 1 Area Focus mode, focus on the face and then shoot immediately before the subject moves. Do NOT use C-AF since it would readjust the focus to another subject in the background which might be in the spot where your daughter was a split second before. Then you'd have the fence in the background in focus and your daughter blurred.