Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Apr 9, 2006, 10:52 PM   #1

What is the best way to work around the large WCON-08B lens as far as getting light onto the subject and insuring no shadows.* I know I will need to use a different flash than the internal flash but what would be a good choice without geting too big or expensive?* I would like something that would be fairly versital.* I have also seen some info about increasing the distance for the AF Assist Lamp.* Is that something that can be done with the flash in some way?* Any concerns about redeye and if so what is the best way to avoid redeye?* Are there any filters I should consider for this lens? *Should I leave my UV filter on before the WA lens or remove it?* As you can tell I am very new to this so please don't go over my head too much.**Thanks, Al
mebareit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 9, 2006, 11:05 PM   #2

I have the FZ20/WCON 08B combo....I use the SUNPAK 383 flash, it's very reasonably priced at around $70.00 it has a full tilt up head for bounce and it can swivel about 340 degrees It's great for getting around the shadow issuesand the WCON 08B. The down side is that it's full size, not a compact.

Hiroshi
Hiroshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2006, 11:51 PM   #3

Thanks Hiroshi for the quick reply.* I just checked ot the Sunpak 383 Super and it looks like a very good unit and the size does not seem to be too big.* The reviews I read were all very good and the price looks like about $80 shipped.* I have a question about something that I saw many times in the reviews, what is TTL?* It was noted that the flash does not have TTL and I can't find it listed in the index of my FZ20 manual.* Do I need it? * *Thanks, Al
Old Apr 10, 2006, 12:02 AM   #4