Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 18, 2006, 5:41 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Default

Sorry if you read this in Remote Control. I only had about 15 reads, and no answer.

I am trying to find a timer that will work with the FZ30. Nikon has a MC-36 and Canon has a TC-80N3 that are listed specifically for their cameras (and look strangely alike). Has anyone found one that works with the Panasonics? Are the Nikon or Canon timers universal enough to work with the Pannie?

Thanks!


gsellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 18, 2006, 8:48 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
seemolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,255
Default

sorry, perhaps you try a different forum!

There are some DIY solutions at dpreview:

search for intervalometer or remote

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/re...ssage=17361382

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/re...410&page=1

Ask these guys directly or via formum, they will know!

... just to answer your question, I am not involved (FZ5...).

Sven




seemolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2006, 11:43 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 191
Default

Well there is the Panasonic Remote Shutter (DMW-RS1) if thats what you mean, I got mine from ebay for around £15 but here is a link:

http://www.fotosense.co.uk/shop_deta...&_DMC-FZ20

But there is no timer involved, there is of course the built in countdown timer on the FZ30 for either 2 or 10 seconds? Or have I got the wrong end of the stick?
Seedubs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2006, 10:29 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Default

I asked Panasonic and they don't know. They said you could try another at your pro photo shop. I will try the other links.



Edit - After reading those and seeing the homemade remotes here, it might be easier to buy one of the other's and analyze it. Then just build a tiny converter box to change the signal if it is different. hmmm... Wish I had done better in electric circuits twenty years ago
gsellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2006, 6:47 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Default

We have a winner. Just got off the phone with Mark atHarbortronics. TheDigiSnap 2100 with a custom cable made by them. No need to do it myself and that is worth it to me. I will see about ordering Monday after the president, aka my wife, approves the expenditure.
gsellis is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:50 PM.