Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jul 1, 2006, 2:53 PM   #1

I'm new to the whole macro thing, so go easy on me. Here's a small spider I saw eating it's breakfast this morning.

FZ7, F8, +5 diop. and cropped no PP

vaiboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 1, 2006, 6:14 PM   #2

I like it! The spider looks as though he's none too happy with you for interrupting his breakfast though.

I'm having trouble finding good subjects around here lately. You caught a cool moment with good subjects.Nice focus too.

Only complaint is it looks a little dark on my monitor. Looks like the lighting may have been a little difficult to work with. Are you using any fill flash? You can always lighten it up in PP.

RedStickMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2006, 6:57 PM   #3

It's been real hot here all week so the only things I have really seen to shoot are a few spiders and flies. They are hiding most of the day and only come out in the morning or evening so lighting is definitely an issue. I don't have an external flash and the DCR-5320 blocks the onboard flash. I went back out and took some more shots of the same spider. This time I used a DCR-250 and a fluorescent work light to get a little better lighting.

Just cropped and rotated 180*.

It still has some fly blood around it's mouth.

Old Jul 1, 2006, 9:34 PM   #4

Very nice photo. As for it being hot, as Redstickman noted, it is hard to find something to get a photo of. Even the insects are looking for A/C along with us, just they are more discreet.

Jerry
bayourebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2006, 11:50 PM   #5

Thanks for the comments!