Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jul 10, 2006, 12:00 AM   #1

Hi all..

Well, I got my FZ30 the end of May and have taken just less than 1K images with it so I'm still learning how to put it to its best capabilities (Have >8K images w/my FZ5, though). I received most of my D50 system on July 6th and have <300 images on it so am REALLY just learning it!

I know that I've personally had a lot of interest in how the FZ30 stacks up to a dSLR before making the plunge to bidding/winning my D50 so I tried doing a very non-scientific comparison between the two late yesterday afternoon about 2-hours before sunset.

This was not meant as an exercise for those to belabor the prosumer v dSLR debate... I'm more addressing this post and my experiences towards neophytes/newbies such as myself that have had experience w/a FZ5/FZ20 or lower digi and have entertained dSLR lust as they grew more experienced in their use/experience...

I went looking to try and get some Red Tail Hawk images with both but only saw one uncooperative one that didn't stay around for me. I was able to find a couple of cooperative Ravens, though. Actually, these hard to image birds may be a somewhat better test comparison in some ways, though.

I should preface the following with pointing out that I tried to keep the digis on the ~same focal lengths (432mm on the FZ30 & 450mm on the D50); the same Auto settings letting camera choose aperature/WB/exposure etc.

The D50 images were shot w/the Tamron 70-300mm f/4 - 5.6 LD macro zoom kit lens at full zoom. (Keep in mind the D50 is using a ~$100 Kit Lens... ) The Raven images had the FZ30 Post Processed w/Lvls adjustments and the D50 PP w/Lvls & Shadow lightening adjustments. Other images just resized for post - no PP. No noise processing for any of the images.

Note: