Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jul 22, 2006, 11:57 AM   #1

Hello, I am new to using a macro lens and I had read elsewhere that you can stack lenses. I have the Raynox 250 and would like to get the 150. Does it require a step ring to stack them?

Here is my first decent macro. I am enjoying exploring with it and it is really a fun challenge.

[align=center]
[/align]
Beth Ellen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 22, 2006, 12:43 PM   #2

The rear thread of the dcr150/250 is 43mm and the front is 49mm, so you will need a 49-43mm step down ring to stack them. If you happen to already have a 49-xmm step up ring where x=52mm-67mm, you could use the snap on adapter that comes with the dcr150/250, although that might be placing the two lens a little far apart and cause more vignetting.

Note: The resulting +12 diopter of the stacked marcos is going to be almost impossible to work with except for numismatology due to the essentially non-existent depth of field. As you can see in your shot, the dc250 dof is already extrememely shallow; on the order of 0.5-1mm. The dcr150 is still a good investment in that it is much easier to work with than the dcr250. I suppose while you have them both though, you might as well stack them.

Here's a portion of the upper left quadrant of adime taken with the fz5 and dcr250 and minolta #2 stacked for a total of +12 diopter. The horizontal field is7-8mm. Resized only.

fmoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2006, 1:35 PM   #3

This is very informative. Even if I don't stack them I will still find much use for the 150. Thank you much.
Old Jul 22, 2006, 8:38 PM   #4

I have a quick follow-up question as I am not sure I understand something. Is the shallow DOF typical of the Raynox 250 or of any lens at this magnification?
Old Jul 24, 2006, 1:54 AM   #5

The DOF is influenced by the aperture.

It is identical for all lenses with the same diopter!