Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jul 22, 2006, 9:18 PM   #1

One of my customers is going to open a wildlife photo gallery and wants me to supply him with 16x20 & 18 x 24 wildlife photos. He wants 70% of them with a insert of close up and 30% of just the animal. He has given me a list of the 1st 12 animals he wants. He wants 6 of each animal all different shots. It is these large size photos that has me in trouble. The smaller photos I can do.

Today I own FZ 30, Nikon TCE17, QuikAim Max RDS, Zeiss Digiscope/Sony W7. Obviously I am going to have to get some additional equipment.

When I started shooting wildlife last year you all were very helpful in telling me what I needed and gave me numerous hints.

What kind of camera?????? 95% of the time the photos are going to be of wildlife. 70% will have a photo of where I found them with a close up inserted. 30% will be a close up of the animal. One thing to remember is the best wildlife opportunities are early morning and evening so that means low light conditions.

I am hoping to keep the equipment down to 4 lenses. I am sure I need a good large zoom and a wide lens.

I have absolutely no idea where to start. I need to get some suggestions on which camera and which lens and ???? I know this is not going to be cheap but I do need to pay attention to the dollars. My customer owns numerous retail businesses one of them supplies his others stores with custom matts & frames.

???Canon, Nikon, Sony, Panasonic or ???? once I choose a camera body what lenses????

Thanks in advance for any ideas or suggestions. I will print all posts so I can have something to study and make my decision with.

--
roger (The Old Newbie)
FZ 30, Nikon TCE17, QuikAim Max RDS, Zeiss Digiscope/Sony W7
WackyRoger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 22, 2006, 9:24 PM   #2

Roger, wish I could help, but I am afraid we are in the raft in the rapids together on this one.:?