Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Aug 26, 2006, 4:26 AM   #1

Hi there. I am fairly new to digital photography, although I have been a multimedia teacher for several years.....guess I just got sick of being on the other side!

In a fit of madness and passion (is there any difference?), I splurged one Saturday afternoon and brought myself a Panasonic FZ 30. I also picked up a tripod, spare battery, 1GB SD card, and a nifty UV lense because I am paranoid about scratching my lense with sand.

Got the whole thing home and thought.........blast, I know nothing about the techniques of digital photography. I am a whizz with photoshop and fixing/modifying other people's digital photos, but I don't actually know a great deal about the skill behind taking photos.

Spent a Saturday afternoon in "auto mode" and the results were pleasing but I am yearning to do it the "hard way". My fingers are itching to hit that manual mode.

My interests lay in street photography.........people, building etc. I love B/W photography but intend to tweek that using the Grad in Photoshop rather than the actual camera settings.

Ok, enough rambling. Here are my questions............

I've brought a few magazines and researched via google everything I can lay my hands on about aperture and shutter speeds. I've taken a look at the various settings for photos I've admired on the web, but I just can't seem to reproduce the same results.

Is there a "base" line that most people begin their aparture and shutter speeds, and adjust accordingly?

I understand the theory behind the aparture and shutter speeds, but some of the photos I've admired have been taken with settings I wouldn't even think would work under normal circumstances.

I guess looking at someone else's photo's settings and actually knowing the context under which it was taken is very difficult (available light etc).