Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Old Feb 11, 2007, 7:27 PM   #1

I'm a complete novice with regards to the slr world (digital and film) and am looking to purchase a k100d here in the near future. One advantage that people say about the k100d is that you can use old lenses on the new bodies. I was trying to research exactly what type of lenses would work. I see that there are k mount and ka mounted lenses. One site says that "k" mounted lenses would work but with some restrictions. It also said that there weren't any restrictions on the ka's. Can anybody help me out as to what would be the most common fit for the k100?
thanks
atroskie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 11, 2007, 8:23 PM   #2

I'm still a bit confused about this as well, but as I understand it, K-mount lenses are the basic, fully manual bayonet-mounted lenses. KA lenses use the same bayonet mount, but have some contacts on the mount so the camera can automatically control the aperture. KAF lenses are like KA lenses, except there is additional contacts so the camera can also control the focus automatically.
Illuminati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2007, 9:00 PM   #3

Its a matter of AE/AF vs AE only, as far as I can see. There might be fully manual plain K cameras but I think most were at least AE.
Hayward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2007, 9:03 PM   #4

Briefly you have the following lenses when you are talking about K-mount lenses:

- K or M lenses are manual lenses. The camera needs to be set to M mode, you set the aperture on the lens, focus manually, and push the AE-L button so the camera can temporarily stop down the lens and meter. There is a nuance to this, but this is the basic way to get them to work. There's a lever on the lens that the camera uses to stop down the lens when you push the shutter (this allows you to focus with the lens wide open).