Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Old Sep 24, 2007, 6:48 AM   #1

Does anyone have one of those? I was thinking about getting one to replace the kit lens. I'm not really good at using 18mm and 24mm at wide end would be fine for me. I've read few reviews and the only complaint I found was that lens hood was too small and some people had to send their copies to sigma due to soft images. But I'd like to know if anyone here has one and what's their opinion on this lens. I assume it's sharper than kit lens at around f4 but any owners opinions would be great

greg
gfurm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 24, 2007, 9:05 AM   #2

I heard it's good, but at the same price you could get the tamron 28-75 f 2.8, which is considered amazing.
Lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2007, 1:00 PM   #3

I have the Sigma 28-70mm f2.8 EX DG and it is a very sharp piece of glass that give an excellent photo. I'm not sure about the 24-70 but imagine it is of the same build and quality.
Kenn

KennJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2007, 1:22 PM   #4

I looked at reviews of both lenses and both have some drawback. Sigma is said to be soft wide open but Tamron has some QC issues. I'd prefer softer lens wide open than problems with AF, and 24mm is better than 28mm. but I still would like to hear some of your opinions on this lens.

thanks

greg
Old Sep 24, 2007, 5:53 PM   #5

Although I never had the f2.8 version, I did have a "normal" 28-70 AF lens - the silver Pentax one, which would be great on a full frame camera, but is just too middle of the road for digital.

28mm is not wide enough and 70mm is not long enough.

But each to his own.

Dal
Dal1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2007, 8:16 PM   #6