Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Old Oct 21, 2007, 9:29 AM   #1

I'm looking into both of these lenses, but haven't seen much information about either of them, except for reviews on Amazon. Does anyone have experience with either of these lenses? I will be pairing with a K100D. I'm new to SLR photography, and have heard that both brands produce very nice lenses, but I do like the fact that Tamron offers a 6 year warranty.

Thanks for any help everybody!
rdb4198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 21, 2007, 11:52 AM   #2

I don't have either of these lenses. It seems like both the Tamron and the Sigma APO version take great pictures (search around here for examples, both lenses are represented by people around here). Sigma makes two lenses at this focal length - the APO version is definitely worth the extra price.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2007, 12:24 PM   #3

Whomever owns the Tamron 70-300 Di LD 4.0-5.6 1:2 macro or Sigma 70-300 APO has given each their kudos to both. The Tamron has the added feature of 1:2 Macro.

Either one you choose you will enjoy the results.
vIZnquest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2007, 2:23 PM   #4

I've got the Sigma non-APO and I love it. It also does 1:2 Macro, and the price is right. I have a number of example pictures with it although I have a hard time shrinking them to post. I have a portfolio section on my website (www.picsbydan.com) if you really want to see some. In the Portrait section, all of the ones of the couple together, and most of the Macro section ones are with that lens.

Hope that helps.
fisheye4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 1:30 AM   #5

Nice pictures in your link. The pictures of the building in Assinboine Park in Winnipeg (my home town) are excellent.
fisheye4 wrote:
Quote: