Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Old Nov 27, 2007, 7:34 PM   #1

I got my hands on an old M42 screw mount SMC Takumar 50mm f:1.4 lens. Seems to be in pretty nice condition and didn't cost me anything.

I read a bit through the forums about the available adapters and all the caveats. I've seen a couple of the Pentax made adapters for sale priced around $50 and others ones priced much lower. I think if I couldn't focus to infinity (as with the cheaper ones), I wouldn't really use it much. Is the General Brand one from B&H equivalent to the Pentax? Do they ever have it in stock?

I guess my question is would it be worth it to spend the money for the Pentax adapter? Is this lens worth investing that much money to make it work, or would I be better served applying my money towards something K-mount.

Remember, I'm a DSLR noob and don't know how well I'd take to having to set everything manually on the lens.

RedStickMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 27, 2007, 10:50 PM   #2

unless you collect, $50 is too much.

as far as the general brand at B&H, it's fine. it'll still let you retain infinity focus. it's probably a kalt or bower. i've got a kalt from them($18dlvd) and it works just as good as my asahi model altho it's a little harder to mount and unmount but i don't need the tool to do it with..

roy
robar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2007, 10:58 PM   #3

Check Ebay for Roxen. That is where I got mine from for like $25 shipped or something. Yes, it allows infinity focus! The adapter is well worth it and opens up and entire line of excellent lenses!
digitaldevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2007, 11:05 PM   #4

DD, MM, J, that's too much! hehe
Adorama and B&H are less for the same thing... from what i've seen and read from ??s asked at both places they only sell items that allow infinity focus
Old Nov 28, 2007, 3:17 AM   #5