Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 28, 2008, 7:07 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mornington, Australia
Posts: 697
Default

I have found one of these and are wondering if anyone has any experience with one.SMC pentax man focus black body. Sharp & fast or soft and heavy.

:-)

or




thanks

Simon
simowills is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 28, 2008, 11:05 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
snostorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chicago Suburb, IL, USA
Posts: 2,770
Default

Hi Simon,

Roy has one, and I'm sure that he will chime in. . .

What I know is hearsay, so here's what they say. . . :-) :

Sharp and fast, AND big and heavy. I personally never had it on my radar because I chose early on to only go with "A" capable lenses, and it's too big for my style of shooting, but it's usually a bargain probably for those reasons.

IIRC this is a preset lens -- you meter with it stopped down, activate a switch to focus wide open, then reactivate the switch to stop down to the preset value to take the shot.

Here are a few user reviews:

http://www.photographyreview.com/mfr...3_3111crx.aspx

One of the reviewers stated that it was still listed on a UK site @ over 2000£ at that time! I'd say that at that price, you could do better, but if it's under $600-700 USD, then it would be worth looking at.

Scott
snostorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2008, 5:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
robar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: D/FW area Texas
Posts: 7,590
Default

ditto scott.
this is not a preset lens tho. when i use mine i'll use it in Av mode and close the ap down. it's totally manual so when you close down the ap the cam reads what it's receiving.. this is a fantastic lens for the buck.. taken from about 90-100yards out.



you will need a stury tripod and head for this lens. this is not a lens you just take along and maybe use.. it's a lens you take along to use.. it's 20''long, 5''dia., and 7 1/2 pounds.. but it's also sharp as a tack.. another from 100yards.



roy
robar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2008, 5:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
robar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: D/FW area Texas
Posts: 7,590
Default

i can make suggestions about tripods and heads if you want them. no point in it if you don't have the lens tho.

roy
robar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2008, 12:06 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
bilybianca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hassleholm, Sweden
Posts: 3,435
Default

robar wrote:
Quote:
i can make suggestions about tripods and heads if you want them. no point in it if you don't have the lens tho.

roy
Do, do!

(But my buying the K20D will postpone my tripod upgrade even further into anuncertain future...)

Kjell
bilybianca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2008, 5:59 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mornington, Australia
Posts: 697
Default

Thanks all for the advice, I've emailed for more info on the lens, I think it's overpriced at A$1700, we'll see.

Simon
simowills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2008, 1:12 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
robar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: D/FW area Texas
Posts: 7,590
Default

what's the rate even if it's 2 to one it's overpriced.. 450-700usd is about right

roy
robar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2008, 2:39 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mornington, Australia
Posts: 697
Default

Hi Roy,

I don't think it will go as low as that but I'll keep looking. A little while ago I would have thought it a reasonable buy, but if the new DA*'s are around the price they say then it seems way over priced.

thanks

Simon
simowills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2008, 2:54 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ennacac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4,198
Default

There is an Excellent condition screw mount version available for sale from a store right now for $484 in the US. It is the same lens, but with the screw mount end piece. I have one and it works perfectly and is very sharp.

PM sent

Tom
ennacac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2008, 6:44 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mornington, Australia
Posts: 697
Default

Thanks Tom,
simowills is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:04 PM.