Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Old Jan 30, 2008, 9:56 AM   #1

SigmaZoom Telephoto 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG Macro Autofocus Lens for Pentax AF

or

SigmaZoom Wide Angle-Telephoto 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro Autofocus Lens f/ Pentax AF SLR

Both are the same price and they will compliment the kit lense on the k10.
Angel L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 30, 2008, 10:28 AM   #2

Definitely get the 70-300 APO. You already have the kit lens, you don't need to cover that focal length again.

I'm only speaking from what I've seen posted here (I have no experience with either lens) but people routinely post excellent pictures here taken with the 70-300. I'vemostly seen people post complaints about the 28-300 - its soft and makes too many compromises (it is extremely difficult for a lens to be sharp for both wide angle and telephoto). In general, the longer focal range a lens covers, the worse it gets (the one exception appears to be the relatively newTamron 18-250).
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2008, 11:29 AM   #3
TDN

the 70-300mm will be MUCH better at 300mm than the 28-300mm.

The reason is that the 28-300 has a much bigger zoom range (~10x), and for that the engineers will have had to make some compromises.

The 70-300mm APO has been known to produce some great results, I'd say go for it.

Tom
TDN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2008, 8:40 AM   #4

70-300 APO!!

Dawg
bigdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2008, 8:51 AM   #5

I am in kinda the same boat. I am trying to choose between:

Tamron - AF70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di LD Macro 1:2

Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG MACRO Lens

What does the APO mean? The Tamron is $80 less then the Sigma. This will be my first new lense besides the 18- 55 kit lense.

Is this a good lense:

SMC PENTAX FA J 75-300mm F4.5-5.8 AL.