Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Old Apr 26, 2008, 12:15 PM   #1

Good Saturday morning to all you most awesome Pentax photo gods!
Okay, so as you may already know I am a total SLR newbie. Below are my lenses.
My fav, the SMC Pentax -M 1:4 200mm, second fav SMC Pentax M f3.5 135mm
and this little wide angle thingy (I don't have an adapter for) and I really don't know what to do with it. That would be my question, what do I do with that thing?

Comments: After a couple of days playing I have determined that I hate the kit lense. Hate it, hate it, hate it. Now maybe there is something wrong with my camera. Being so new it is more likely me, but, It consistantly overexposes shots when left to its own devices.
(This include using the AE-L in full manual mode.) If I use the kit lense I must use manual to get a good exposure. None of the presets give good shots.
What do you think is it me????

And the onboard flash, eww. Thank goodness I scored a Promaster 7500DX $159! Its on the way to save the day. Cannot get any good shots indoors. Hopefully, that will change with the new flash.
So experts have you any ideas?
Thanks so much in advance,
Xmas
PS the following crappy photos taken with kit lens in manaul mode so it couldn't force a flash

pdgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 26, 2008, 3:18 PM   #2

Sorry to hear you are having such trouble with your kit lens - generally it is regarded as the best kit lens on the market.

What exposure mode are you using with it? Have you tried centre-weighted? Have you tried putting the camera into Green Mode or Program Mode to see if it is any better?

The wide angled adapter looks like it may use a series 7 adpater, which can be bought in different filter sizes. I have one for my semi-fisheye adapter and my ringflash.

Dal
Dal1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2008, 4:30 PM   #3

@pdgirl