Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Old May 3, 2008, 5:16 PM   #1

So you all know I'm a newbie. When I take photos I like my subject to be the photo. I mean if I shoot a wine glass, that's all I want in my photo. Not a wine glass on a table in a room, just the glass. I think that's why my 200mm is my fav lens. I can get real nice full frame shots if I'm far enough away of course. Now the bulk of my photographs will be shooting my clothes, people in my clothes and runway shots. With that in mind which lens(es) would be my best options?
And I don't want any "consumer" lenses. Should I decide to upgrade my body one day I want my lenses to go with me.
But wait, more questions, what I would like to know is....
when choosing a lens does a lower aperature rating mean a better lens? i.e f1.4 would be better than a f3.4 yes? no? or what the hell do all these numbers mean anyway?

Thanks for the info guys,
Cheers
pdgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 3, 2008, 10:05 PM   #2

Hi pdgirl,

Ok, I'll give it a shot, however some additional information would really help everyone here. First, the answer to your "numbers" question. The simple answer, is that there are 2 main numbers that concern lenses. The focal length - the larger the number the closer it gets you to your subject (i.e. your 200mm is the focal length), hence the larger and heavier the lens, along with a higher price. The other number is the minimum f stop the lens is capable of. The smaller the number, the more light it is capable of gathering, which usually translates to more and higher quality optical glass/lens elements in the lens, a heaver lens weight and a higher cost.