Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 10, 2008, 8:06 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
mtngal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Frazier Park, CA
Posts: 16,052
Default

20 feet is a long way for a minimum distance - the A300 is something like 11 feet and I often find myself backing up more than I want to get it to focus. Thanks for the info, it still shoots good pictures (and yes, I can see why you'd want an extension tube).
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2008, 7:11 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
philneast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hobart Tasmania
Posts: 489
Default

Mine is sitting in the cupboard.

It went into retirement because I really needed a zoom, mainly for occasional motorsport where you do not have a lot of choice about moving positions to suit focal lengths.

A momnopod is esential, thats why it should have mountin gcollar on the lens. Apart from reducing camera shake, they do get heavy over the course of a days shooting.

Phil
philneast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2008, 8:24 AM   #13
TDN
Senior Member
 
TDN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,288
Default

Looks like you got a better copy than mine.
Mine had red CA on every shot.

Looks like with some practice, you'll get some really nice shots out of this one!

Tom
TDN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2008, 11:17 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Rodney9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Yeronga, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 3,518
Default

Very, very cute and what a terrific lens.
Rodney9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2008, 6:21 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
bigdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thach Alabama
Posts: 14,981
Default

Dal1970 wrote:
Quote:
bigdawg wrote:
Quote:
Looks like a keeper to me Dal! I've been looking at some of those myself!

Dawg
Thanks Dawg.

I think it just pays to be aware that most of these type of lenses appear to bejust paperweights. Avoid things like Soligor.

Although this is a f5.6 lens, I still went down one stop to f8 (my fav aperture).



I think I would still rather have the Bigma, if only for the convienience of zooming.





Dal
I've learned the good brands over time Dal...No problem there. I have a Vivitar 300mm f/5.6 that does a fine job...Just a little CA in the wrong light. I was wondering how much CA you have to deal with with this one?

Dawg
bigdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 12:24 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 1,868
Default

To be honest Dawg, it was my first outing with lens, and I left it at f8.

Looking at the shots I took, there doesn't seem to be any CA to speak of.

However, I feel that if I do get the exposure wrong, or use it in overcast/dull situations, then I will suffer quite badly (they all seem to)



Dal


Dal1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2008, 9:50 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 37
Default

Does your version have the TX mount? Or straight K-Mount? I bought one last year with a TX mount ( similar to the Tamron adaptall mount ) and I like it. I have not used it too much, but when I have, the results have been pleasing.

A moon shot with a cheap CPC 2x T/C



A butterfly at about 30 feet


StevePMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2008, 1:19 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 1,868
Default

Mine is the straight k-mount.

To be honest, I haven't used since the Meerkats.

Your shot of the butterfly makes me think I should get it out again.



Dal
Dal1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2008, 6:22 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 37
Default

I haven't used mine very much at all, but it is nice to know I have it if I need it !!
StevePMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2008, 8:57 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
bigdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thach Alabama
Posts: 14,981
Default

Both of you need to use them more. Been looking for a decent 400mm with the TX mount because the Sigma APO teleconverter can be used with it. My TX mount 300mm Vivitar has given me some of my sharpest photos. Still have to watch the light's direction to avoid the CA but the APO teleconverter helps there quite a bit by limiting the amount of CA that hits the sensor.

Dawg

bigdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:38 PM.