Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Old Jul 27, 2008, 12:37 PM   #1

Over the last 18 months, I had a couple of opportunities to get the DA 12-24, but I waited. I would order it right now, but leaving for a business trip and I want to be here when it comes. So I was looking around to decide who to order it from and I ran across a new Tokina 11-16 f2.8 (a rework of Tokina's 12-24) that is just coming out. Question is - ifand when will Pentax follow suit.

So do I hold off and wait and see or plunge ahead. I am thinking of plunging ahead, because....
1) Do I really need 2.8 - not really, even for night citiscapes - I have done ok with slower lenses, and I am still learning. If I were intent on getting a series of f2.8 lenses, then this may be a consideration. However, overall - I am pretty happy with the somewhat slower lenses.

2) Do I need 1mm wider than the 12-24 - I have the 10-17 and it goes to 180 degrees fov, and pretty much mutes this question. At best, the 11-16 fov is 104 degrees vs the 12-24's 99 degrees fov.

3) IQ and sharpness - The 11-16 so far indicates that it sets a new standard beyond Nikon and even possibly Cannon. The 12-24 is suppose to be great but the 11-16 is much better. Can my eyes really see the difference?

4) The range - with the 12-24 going to 24, I would have better overlap with the other lenses, and thus not have to switch lenses as often. Just had my camera and lenses all cleaned and WHAT a DIFFERENCE!

5) Time - Do I really want to wait another ?? - 6 months for Pentax to announce somenting or not. Not really.