Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Old Jan 27, 2010, 2:56 PM   #1

Default Wide apeture lens for Pentax K-x

I'm a dSLR newbie and about to purchase the Pentax K-x (tomorrow if all goes well). I plan on purchasing the camera with the standard 18-55mm lens to use for general purpose, travel, family events, etc.

My plan is to purchase a wide apeture lens a few months down the road once I feel more comfortable with the camera. It's mostly personal preference, I love the "wide open" look in photos, especially for casual portraits. I'd love to get a 1.4 or 1.8 lens. Does anyone have any specific recommendations for an affordable lens that would suit these needs with the Pentax K-x?

Like I said, I don't want to purchase the lens immediately but I would like to have an idea of what I'm looking for and how much I might expect to spend.

Thanks!
JillT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 28, 2010, 6:02 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by JillT View Post
I'm a dSLR newbie and about to purchase the Pentax K-x (tomorrow if all goes well). I plan on purchasing the camera with the standard 18-55mm lens to use for general purpose, travel, family events, etc.

My plan is to purchase a wide apeture lens a few months down the road once I feel more comfortable with the camera. It's mostly personal preference, I love the "wide open" look in photos, especially for casual portraits. I'd love to get a 1.4 or 1.8 lens. Does anyone have any specific recommendations for an affordable lens that would suit these needs with the Pentax K-x?

Like I said, I don't want to purchase the lens immediately but I would like to have an idea of what I'm looking for and how much I might expect to spend.

Thanks!