Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Old Apr 7, 2010, 3:35 PM   #1

Default auto Teleconverter

My 28-200 tammy isnt the best reach for birds and wild life but I am enjoying the lens.

How would a X2 TC affect IQ and AF speeds? is there x2 teleconverters that allow for auto focusing still ? If i am going to be stuck with manual focus, I might as well just use the 500mm prime I have.

I dont find a lot of good times when the 500mm prime comes in handy so this was a bit of a failed buy. I need the remote to properly use this and it requires I lug around my extremely heavy Bogen Tripod.

I am completely new to wild life photography so I know my skills are not up to par but Im finding the hinderance of range is already a problem. With the tammy, I must pretty much be at near spitting range to still produce a nice up close shot and still have it crisp.

Well, to get down to it I did just purchase a Sigma 70-300 lens for fairly reasonable price.

At first i found a few stellar reviews that made the decision easy for the price but now with it in the mail Im regretting it a bit.

Should I have just bought a X2 teleconverter for my 28-200 instead of the 70-300?

I guess perhaps only time can tell. Im asking about the teleconverter because I want to know if I should just save my breath and not even open the sigma 70-300 when i get it and resell as brand new, or just return it ??

I cant afford the DA* lenses with nice reach so my budget was under 200.

Any thoughts/suggestions ?
NMRecording is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 7, 2010, 11:09 PM   #2

Keep the 70-300. The only 2x TC I tried was lousy and that seems to be the general consensus. 1.4 or 1.7 at the most are OK, but you lose too much quality when you go to 2x. Well, I shouldn't say the 2x TC is a complete loss - I took the glass out and use it occasionally as an extension tube. Works quite well for that.