Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Old Mar 31, 2011, 11:34 AM   #1

Default Wedding photography lenses for Pentax k-r

Hello,
I'm a newby when it comes to digital photography (I have some experience with 35mm though). I have a wedding coming up next soon and a friend of mine will be doing the photography. I purchased a Pentax k-r with 18-55mm kit lense a few months ago and have been playing with it since then. I also purchased DSLR for dummies 2010 version and I rented a Pentax da*60-250mm lense, Pentax 77mm limited 1.8 lense and a AF540 flash w/powerpack for the wedding date. Did I choose the right lenses for wedding photography or should I get different lenses? Also, since I chose a da*60-250mm, am I doubling up by getting the 77mm limited? Would I be better off getting da* equivalent to 18-55 and not get the prime? Anything I'm missing? Any advise would is greatly appreciated.
Thanks again
Dan
dwbs25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 31, 2011, 11:47 AM   #2

Dan,
You say "a friend of mine will be doing the photography". Is your friend a professional wedding photographer or just a friend of the bride/groom doing them a favor. The reason I ask is that: if the friend is a pro, why aren't they advising you on gear?

Now, the second question: where do you fit in? Or are you saying you and the friend are "partners" and will be doing the wedding together? If it's a coordinated effort, you need to determine who will be doing which photography - that will determine what gear each needs to have.