Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Old Jul 22, 2011, 1:49 PM   #1

Default Adapters for Pentax lenses to non Pentax bodies

I'm curious about how lens adapters, such as Novaflex would work transferring my Pentax DA/FA lenses to non Pentax bodies?

I'm only familiar with the Novaflex name...are their other brand adapters ?

Would the AF and all the features of both the lenses and the non Pentax body still work ?

Has anybody had any experience with adapters ?

Any non Pentax bodies to recommend for use with Pentax lenses and an adapter ?

Thanks,

Les
lesmore49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 23, 2011, 8:17 AM   #2

Morning Les,

I am by no means an expert, however the main concern is the registration distance which will determine what lens mounts will fit on what bodies - regardless of the mechanical considerations.

The registration distance is the distance between the sensor and the mount plate, thus the lens' design and focus length is keyed to this distance. What will work is lenses designed for longer registration distances can be adapted to bodies with shorter registration distances. Hence Contax works on Pentax and Canon along with 4:3 but not Nikon.
Nikon has a relatively long registration distance, while Canon has a shorter one. Thus there are a lot of adapters for Canon and Pentax, and relatively few (if any other than 645) for Nikon. So Canon, Sony and the 4:3 bodies are the best candidates....
interested_observer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 11:02 AM   #3

What about the flip flop, which other lenses are there adapters to allow use on a Pentax?
fofa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 11:46 AM   #4

There are a ton of other lens makes that can be used on Pentax. Some of these lenses - especially the M42 mount can really be had for a song...