Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Aug 5, 2011, 9:19 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Ian Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 393
Default Pentax K10D & Sigma 120-400mm F4.5-5.6 APO DG OS

Hello from the earthquake city of Christchurch, New Zealand.
Just wonder if anyone has found a way to activate autofocus in a Sigma 120-400 with a Pentax K10D or will I just have to wait to get a later model Pentax like the KX, K5 or K7?
Thanks for any replies.
Cheers: Ian Mc
Ian Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 6, 2011, 8:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tumbleweed, Arizona
Posts: 1,381
Default

Afternoon, Check out this link....
You may need to update to the latest firmware and/or maybe check with Sigma about the compatability of your lens' HSM with your K10

interested_observer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2011, 10:57 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Ian Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 393
Default Pentax K10D & Sigma 120-400

Thank You "Interested Observer"
It certainly sounds like the new firmware will solve the problem.
Have downloaded this via USB cord to the camera but although I can find it in my computer downloads could not find any instructions as to what next.
Camera is still showing version 1.00 but whether there is anything on the SD card which requires action I haven't a clue !!!!
All very confusing.
Any further help appreciated.
Thanks: Ian Mc
Ian Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2011, 4:00 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
jachol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NW. England
Posts: 1,201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Mc View Post
Thank You "Interested Observer"
It certainly sounds like the new firmware will solve the problem.
Have downloaded this via USB cord to the camera but although I can find it in my computer downloads could not find any instructions as to what next.
Camera is still showing version 1.00 but whether there is anything on the SD card which requires action I haven't a clue !!!!
All very confusing.
Any further help appreciated.
Thanks: Ian Mc
Hi Ian,

Check lower down the firmware update page, for instructions on how to apply the update. ... Jack

Edit. There's more comprehensive application info in the readme file once you've extracted the download files

http://www.pentax.jp/english/support...al/k10d_s.html

Last edited by jachol; Aug 7, 2011 at 4:24 AM. Reason: Add info
jachol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2011, 5:17 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Ian Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 393
Default

Thanks Jack
Before I got your message I located the FWDC and the read me files in my documents so managed to complete the version update to 1.31 and the Sigma 120-400 AF is worhing beautifully with the K10D. The FWDC was hiding behind a VLC Icon !!!!
Fair chuffed.
Once again my appreciation to yourself in NW England ( I'm from the Scottish borders pre emigration) and to Interested Observer from Arizona (flew over there above a sandstorm in August 1990 !!!!)
Cheers Guys.
Ian Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2011, 10:41 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
jachol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NW. England
Posts: 1,201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Mc View Post
Thanks Jack
Before I got your message I located the FWDC and the read me files in my documents so managed to complete the version update to 1.31 and the Sigma 120-400 AF is worhing beautifully with the K10D. The FWDC was hiding behind a VLC Icon !!!!
Fair chuffed.
Once again my appreciation to yourself in NW England ( I'm from the Scottish borders pre emigration) and to Interested Observer from Arizona (flew over there above a sandstorm in August 1990 !!!!)
Cheers Guys.
Glad you got it sorted Ian, I was flogging the grey matter to death, trying to

remember how I updated my K100D firmware some years back now, and

eventually had to reread the instructions myself.

Fine on the Scottish borders roots, originally a Boltonian myself, but nearest

city you'd know of now is Preston. Cheers ... Jack
jachol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 12:02 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tumbleweed, Arizona
Posts: 1,381
Default

Hope you have good luck and fortune in using the new lens!!!!

interested_observer is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.