Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Sep 5, 2006, 6:50 AM   #1

Alison,with her macro shots, is the envy ofmany. I was about to'hijack'her thread and take it a bit further in the hope learning a little more but decided it deserves a thread on its own.

Roy or someone had posted a link which I can't find right now and it had reconfirmed for me that, the shorter the focal length of the lense and the longer the distance from the lense to the focal plane - ie distance from back of lense to camera body, the better it is for shooting macro.

I don't want to sound like I'm an expert or anything but would someone please pipe up and expand on this - it would help many of us. There's always the inevitable question which I myself have asked many times "how far away were you?"

I personally dislike cropping but this is inevitable too. Of course the mega increase in pixels is allowing us to do that with increasing ease.

What are YOUR thoughts on these subjects?
nlp239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 5, 2006, 7:57 AM   #2

Hi nlp,

"Roy or someone had posted a link which I can't find right now and it had reconfirmed for me that, the shorter the focal length of the lense and the longer the distance from the lense to the focal plane - ie distance from back of lense to camera body, the better it is for shooting macro."

I think you're referring to extension tubes. Googled "extension tube" and found this:

http://www.shutterfreaks.com/Tips/ExtensionTube.htm

I haven't used them, preferring a dedicated macro and/or the Vivitar 2x Macro Focusing Teleconverter (or both) when playing with macro, and that's about all I've done with them is play. I had planned to do a lot of macro shooting this summer, but some mysterious knee problems have severly limited my mobility for the whole season.