Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Sep 16, 2006, 10:41 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 67
Default

i was in mathers of lancashire today, looking at the above camera, he claims this camera has a dust removal system built in, is this correct, ?i have not seen this in the reviews, he is a pentax dealer, he should know, shouldnt he? camera £479, is this a good price, ? thanks for any help offered

alan
jad123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 16, 2006, 11:09 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Monza76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,093
Default

I have not seen any reference to dust reduction on the K100D. There have been comments to the effect that the SR system may help shake off some dust but these were just off-hand comments with no basis in fact. The K100D is a good buy and does have the shake reduction but it does not have a dust removal system that I am aware of.

Ira
Monza76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2006, 11:28 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 67
Default

thank you ira, alan
jad123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2006, 1:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 44
Default

Dust removal is not mentioned in any of the literature that came with my K100D (trust me, read it all).* Again, as Ira said, the SR system may have the added side affect of shaking off the dust (similar to K10D I suppose) but it hasn't really been tested; and I don't want to be the one to cover my sensor with dust and see if it gets shaken off!* I have gotten one spec but it was easily blown off with my turkey baster (the blower I have is mildly pathetic).*The camera is very good and I've been having fun.* It's a recomended buy from me.
balofagus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2006, 1:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 67
Default

thanks for reading and responding, seems like another dealer trying to sell because i raised the question,thanks, alan
jad123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2006, 5:11 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
mtngal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Frazier Park, CA
Posts: 16,052
Default

My K100D came with a piece of dust on the sensor and didn't go away when I turned it off and on a number of times the first day I had it (it was easily blown away with a handblower after I looked at the pictures on the computer). So my experience is that the SR doesn't vibrate the sensor enough to knock off the dust.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2006, 9:12 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 344
Default

Monza76 wrote:
Quote:
I have not seen any reference to dust reduction on the K100D. There have been comments to the effect that the SR system may help shake off some dust but these were just off-hand comments with no basis in fact. The K100D is a good buy and does have the shake reduction but it does not have a dust removal system that I am aware of.

Ira
The SR motion is not fast enough and vigorous enough in any sense to shade off the dust. Even if they can be shaded off, which from my practical experience has never happened, there is no adhersive tape underneath the CCD to stick the dust.

Forget about the untrue claim of DR in K100D. The DR of K100D is just an air-blower!

RiceHigh
http://www.geocities.com/ricehigh
RiceHigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2006, 9:59 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Monza76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,093
Default

RiceHigh wrote:
Quote:
Monza76 wrote:
Quote:
I have not seen any reference to dust reduction on the K100D. There have been comments to the effect that the SR system may help shake off some dust but these were just off-hand comments with no basis in fact. The K100D is a good buy and does have the shake reduction but it does not have a dust removal system that I am aware of.

Ira
The SR motion is not fast enough and vigorous enough in any sense to shade off the dust. Even if they can be shaded off, which from my practical experience has never happened, there is no adhersive tape underneath the CCD to stick the dust.

Forget about the untrue claim of DR in K100D. The DR of K100D is just an air-blower!

RiceHigh
http://www.geocities.com/ricehigh
I believe you just repeated exactly what I had said.

Ira
Monza76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2006, 7:11 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Villages, Florida, USA
Posts: 128
Default

Deep inside the menu, under "Setup" is a setting called "sensor cleaning". This is a mirror lock-up feature for when you manually clean the sensor. Perhaps this is what the dealer was referring to.
gfmucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2006, 9:52 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
nhmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southern New Hampshire
Posts: 5,202
Default

He may be confused with the new K10. I believe it has a dust removal system.
nhmom is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:07 PM.