Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Sep 18, 2006, 9:22 AM   #1

I'm new to DSLR and have an interest in taking photos of people (w/scenery, portraits, and with art in museums -- all these with natural lighting and without a tripod). My problem with the kit lens appears to be that it is too slow (P&S have f/2.8 lenses) and my unsteady hands causes motion blur (forcing me to lower focal length and increasing ISO). So I have been thinking about getting the Pentax SMC FA 50mm f/1.4 lens. Is this in the right direction? For those who have both lenses, do you experience camera shake indoors at ISO 200?

ksurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 18, 2006, 9:50 AM   #2

I also am new to DSLR but I think you have identified exactly the right lens for your purposes. I have two 50mm 1.7 lenses, an A and an F, and both of them do very well taking indoor pictures without flash.

The negative is that your depth of field is thin wide open but I would think this would still be fine for most museum shots. Compared to my Panasonic point and shoot with its 2.8 lens the Pentax with the 50mm is head and shoulders better in low light/no flash shooting.

The attached shot was just from me playing with the lens. It is taken in my wife's office, a fairly dim room lit only by flourescent tube lights above a suspended ceiling. Hopefully that can be of some help to you.

Tim
Attached Images

NonEntity1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2006, 10:30 AM   #3

Hi ksurfer,

You are thinking in precisely the right direction. All of the Pentax 50mm f1.4s and f1.7s, starting with the screw mounts are great lenses and will give you great performance in low light. I personally have an FA 50 /1.4 and an F 50/1.7, and they are both great. The 1.7 is a tiny bit sharper wide open, and the 1.4 has more pleasing bokeh, IMO.