Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Oct 6, 2006, 12:49 PM   #1

I have Canon 10D and considering the Pentax K10D if the final reviews and photos are favorable. I would keep my Canon I presume.

What is the difference between this pentax pttl with flash unit and that of the Canon and Nikon? Considering I dont have a flash unit and probably wont need one, give me a dummies explanation.

Does Pentax have some good fast telephoto primes that would work with auto focus and exposure on the K10. Something on the order of a 300 f4 etc

sasc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 6, 2006, 1:27 PM   #2

Well, I'm new to the game but I can recomend looking up the thread about Pentax flases. It goes into specific explination about all the different types of flash for Pentax and what that means.Very helpful.

From what Ive been reading, yes Pentax does have some older 300m "*" zooms but they are going for huge prices on ebay right now.
Spiritbro77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 1:34 PM   #3

The F*/FA* 300mm Pentax primes are of the highest quality of any manufacturer, but available only used. The new DFA*300mm won't be available until next year sometime.

Tom
ennacac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 1:51 PM   #4

According to Pentax USA catalog:

P-FA* 300mm f/2.8 $6,067 US (autofocus)

and P-A* 300 f/2.8 $6876 US

for more down to earth lens

P-A 400 f5.6 $2172 US......

Went as far as "checkout" and no "out of stock" or "out of production" screen.

If your willing to spend $6000 I'm sure they will make you one :shock:

oreo57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 2:03 PM   #5

Spiritbro77 wrote:
Quote:
From what Ive been reading, yes Pentax does have some older 300m "*" zooms but they are going for huge prices on ebay right now.