Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Oct 11, 2006, 9:23 PM   #1

I tooksome pictures at my daughters field hockey game today, unfortunately they're mostlyfrom behind so I missed out onfacial expressions and I would have liked the second one if it hadn'tcome outblurry. I'm a newbie and it shows!!:-)I was using my DA 50-200in auto.

JeanneB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 11, 2006, 10:08 PM   #2

The conditions look overcast. These were all shot at ISO 200.In these conditions youshould try bumping up the ISO to 800 or even higher. This would give you the ability to use a faster shutter speed to freeze the action. It would also allow you to stop down the lens more and get more depth of field. You got some good shots to start. Shooting sports is hard to do. I'm still trying also.
Rufus T Firefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2006, 10:17 PM   #3

Thanks for the tips and yes, it was overcast and it did cross my mind at one point that maybe I should bump the ISO up but I'm so new to understanding how and when to change settings that I decided against it, I figured I would be "safe" in auto.I knowin order to getthe quality pictures that a dSLR is capable of I need to learn how to get out of auto.

Old Oct 11, 2006, 10:58 PM   #4