Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Oct 12, 2006, 10:40 PM   #1

I am very new to the whole Digital SLR camera arena. Recently I purchased a Pentax *ist DL, then bought a Sigma 24-135mm f2.8-4.5 lens. The problem I am having is when the function or menu button is pressed it will flash either menu for a second then return back to shooting mode. I spoke to Pentax, they state if it works with the Pentax kit lens, then the camera is fine. I sent the lens to Sigma, they state the lens is fine. I was wondering if anyone else has encountered a problem like this before? The problem occurs in all shooting modes.

Thanks for any help,

Fred

[align=center]
[img]file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Owner/My%20Documents/Photoshop%20Pictures/Butterfly.jpg[/img][/align]
Fred2726 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 12, 2006, 10:47 PM   #2

HI Fred

Welcome To the Forum. I Dont Own the lense myself, but This link Might offer Some advice

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=80

Phil

Black Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2006, 11:11 PM   #3

Yes, Many of us have had the same problem although some find their lens works perfectly. If you bought it from Cameta you can return it within a certain amount of time. You say you sent it to Sigma and got no satisfaction? That's dissapointing because I was getting ready to send mine in.

A workaround is when you want to use the menu, unlock the lens and turn it slightly from full lock(you don't have to turn it much), on mine that allows the menu to be viewed, then when you're ready to shoot twist the lens to full lock and you should be good to go. The lens works fine as far as shooting goes, at least mine does but its a pain to change settings in the menu system. Good luck.