Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Oct 28, 2006, 11:16 AM   #1

I have been looking at some amazing pictures that have been posted with the Pentax-A 50mm 1.7 lens and thus decided that I'd like to add one to my collection, will be my first prime lens. Being a newbie, I'm not so sure what a fair price for these are. I checked KEH and they have some used ones in EX+ condition for $79. Ebay prices seem all over the map, $50-$100+! I found one at a small town camera shop still new in the box, never been used, pristine condition with all the papers! It's amazing looking through that glass! He wanted $125 for it. Seems fair to me, what do you all think?

Thanks a bunch!
ishino is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 28, 2006, 11:33 AM   #2

I bought my A 50mm 1.7 on ebay for about $50 and I watched several others go in that range. I do think that Pentax lenses have been selling higher in the past couple of months but $125.00 seems a little high IMO. On the other hand, buying from ebay is something of a crapshoot and there is something to be said for being able to pay your money and walk out the door with the item. Where ever you get it, I think you will be very happy with it.

Tim

PS, Keh seems to have an excellent reputation for undergrading their merchandise and I was very happy with my single transaction with them.

NonEntity1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2006, 12:05 PM   #3

Didn't notice where your located but at B&H (new york) the fa50 f1.4 is $170 after a $50 rebate. Without it, it's 2x as much as the A.
STILL it is faster and it is autofocus.
Personally I would (actually I did to save a few dollars)go for a used A f1.7. They USUALLY run $50ish on the used market. Normal RETAIL USED EX COND is $70-80. Tough call based on cashflow and time needed/wanted.
The 1.7 is SOMETIMES considered even better than the 1.4..... VERY arguable point.